Small Arts Grants Deadline March 1

ROCK HILL, SC – York County artists, non-profit organizations, schools, and units of government are encouraged to apply for a Small Grant from the Arts Council of York County for events and activities happening in April – June of 2020. Small Grants were developed by the Arts Council of York County to help support projects of high artistic quality throughout York County, including Clover, Fort Mill, McConnells, Rock Hill, Sharon, York, and rural Western York County. New and developing programs and organizations throughout York County are eligible to apply for a Small Grant to support small or pilot arts activities. Special art projects that develop during the year are also eligible for small grants.

The deadline to apply for programs occurring April - June 2020 is Sunday, March 1, 2020 at 5:00 PM. This is a hard delivery deadline. It is not a postmark deadline. Should the deadline fall on a holiday or weekend, grant applications are due the last business day prior to the deadline.

Previous grant recipients include Carolina Crown (York County Middle School HonorBAND), Karen Collins (filmmaking workshops and film festival), Early Learning Partnerships of York County (Rock Hill Reads), Marge Moody (visiting scholar program), Susan Vinson Sherlock (songwriting workshop and concert with Joe Newberry), Strauss Moore Shiple (concert with Dawn Anthony & the Lovell Bradford Quartet).

Organizations and individual artists may request up to $1,000 per grant and may receive up to two grants in a calendar year. Prospective applicants MUST discuss the proposed project with the Executive Director at least 10 days in advance of the application deadline date. The Arts Council will only accept applications beginning 1 week prior to each deadline through 5 PM on the date of the deadline. Information and applications are available through the Arts Council at (803)328-2787, or on the Arts Council's website at www.yorkcountyarts.org/grants.

This small grants program is funded in part by the South Carolina Arts Commission, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the John and Susan Bennett Memorial Arts Fund of the Coastal Community Foundation, and Comporium Communications.

The Arts Council is headquartered in downtown Rock Hill, a state-recognized cultural district. For more information on Arts Council events, contact the Arts Council of York County at (803)328-2787, by email at arts@yorkcountyarts.org, or visit our webpage at http://www.yorkcountyarts.org.